Twitter as a social PR tool

I won’t apologise about my theme of blogging about twitter.  As a fast growing communications medium, it’s fascinating.  Also as a relatively new user I’m just getting to understand the benefits and I want to share them.

I’ve just spotted a great use of twitter as a PR tool (and a great way to build your network of followers).  The BBC are opening up Erik Huggers – Editor of Digital – to an audience of twitter followers, for a Q & A session.  A real conversation with your consumers I hear you say?  Good work BBC I say.

Perhaps not the most exciting senario for twitterers but how far could this be extended?  Music brands opening up their celebs to a real time conversation?  Or Honda engineers talking in realtime in a Q&A session for fans?

It’s not genius but well done BBC for embracing social media.

Leave a Reply

